Novels such as ‘not funny enough’ for the best price

A prize for humorous novels has been put on hold after the judges have declared this year, the entries weren’t funny enough.

The Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction will not be awarded this year.

“We did not feel that all of the books that we’ve read this year has prompted the level of unanimous laughter, we’ve come to expect,” judge David Campbell said.

A statement said there were “a lot of fun and well-written books”, but “no do not meet the criteria of the manufacture of all the judges laugh.”

Among previous winners of the award include Helen Fielding, Michael Frayn, Howard Jacobson, Marina Lewycka, and Alexander McCall Smith.

One of the prizes is to have one of the rare breeds of pigs, to be appointed after the success of the novel.

Campbell said: “My fellow judges and I have decided to retain the award this year to maintain the highest standards of comic-strip fiction as the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize represents.

“We look forward to the awarding of a higher turnover price in the next year for a hilariously funny book.”

The Wodehouse Prize, named after the humorist PG Wodehouse, is the UK’s only award to recognize comic fiction for adults, and is traditionally presented to the winner at the Hay Festival.

Follow us on Facebook, and on Twitter @BBCNewsEnts, or on Instagram at bbcnewsents. If you have a story suggestion e-mail