Cate Cannes jury Blanchett to direct

Oscar-winner Cate Blanchett is the Chairman of the jury selects the prize-winners at this year’s Cannes Film Festival.

It is said “a rare and unique artist with talent and conviction”, the Cannes Film Festival organizers.

The Australian star is one of the Hollywood figures that recently, the Time’s Up campaign to combat sexual harassment in the workplace.

Blanchett said she was “ashamed” to be given the role for the festival in may.

You lead a Committee, which usually consists of actors and filmmakers, who will select the winner of the Palme d’or, the Cannes prize for best film.

You will also have a selection of the festival-the other main prizes.

Blanchett has already won two Oscars for The Aviator and blue Jasmine and was nominated five more times.

Cannes President Pierre Lescure and delegate General Thierry frémaux said: “Our discussions this autumn will convince you as a committed President and a passionate and generous audience.”

She is the third female President of the jury, in the last 10 years, other than Director Jane Campion, in the year 2014 and the actress Isabelle Huppert in 2009.’Strange and vital”

Blanchett said: “I was in Cannes in many guises over the years as actress, producer, on the market, the Gala and competition, but to watch never alone, for the sheer joy, the fullness of the movies, the ports of this great festival.

“I’m embarrassed by the privilege and the responsibility of the presidency in this year in the jury.

“The festival plays a Central role, in order to celebrate the world together, history: try the strange and vital, that all peoples, understand, and tendons.”

Last year, the President of the Spanish film-maker Pedro Almodovar, and the jury was actor Will Smith. The festival saw the couple’s disagreement over where Netflix fits in the world of the film.

In 2017, a jury decided for the world the art of satire The place as the winner of the Palme d’or.

Follow us on Facebook, and on Twitter @BBCNewsEntsor on Instagram at bbcnewsents. If you have a history, the E-Mail proposal [email protected]