Six authors vie for Man Booker Prize


The winner of the Man Booker Prize is revealed by the Duchess of Cornwall, during a ceremony later.

Six authors in the running for the prestigious £ 50,000 fiction award.

They include favorites Lincoln in the Bardo, by George Saunders – about Abraham Lincoln, the pain after the death of his 11-year-old son.

Novelist scottish Ali Smith is a finalist for the Autumn, the first of a quartet, alongside debut authors Emily Fridlund and Fiona Mozley.

The list is completed by US writer Paul Auster, the Pakistan-born Mohsin Hamid.

Mozley, a Phd student at the University of York’s Centre for Medieval Studies, is one of the three women writers of a rose that is divided equally between the two sexes.

She has nominated for Elmet, who began to write on her mobile phone while traveling in London, and now finds himself selling to customers in a bookstore in new York, where she works part-time.

It is a family drama exploring the loss of a rural community in the north of England.

Hamid, who was a finalist in the 2007, The Reluctant Fundamentalist, is once again the contention thanks to the Exit to the West, while Smith is a candidate for the fourth time for his book, in part, “on Brexit”.

There are three of US authors shortlisted – Fridlund, Saunders and the south.

Auster book 4321 is set against the backdrop of the civil rights movement, while Fridlund History of the Wolves looks at the impact of “neglectful parenting”.

If Lincoln in the Bard wins for Saunders, who is best known for his short stories and novels, will be the second American to win the prize.

The prize was open to writers from 2014 onwards and was rewarded for his first American winner, Paul Beatty, last year.

2017 Man Booker Prize contenders

Paul Auster, 4 3 2 1

In short: a young man who grew up in New Jersey in the 1950’s and ‘ 60 carries four parallel lives.

Judges’ comment: “An ambitious, complex, epic, narrative… that is essentially human and the human.”

Getty Images

Baroness Lola Young, chair of the 2017 jury, said the six finalists ‘ novels “and collectively push the boundaries of convention”.

His fellow judges include novelist Sarah Hall, artist Tom Phillips and the travel writer Colin Thubron.


The shortlist has been resized from a longlist of 15 novels that was announced in the month of July.

Sebastian Barry, Arundhati Roy and Zadie Smith are among the writers whose works were in the longlist, but did not make the final cut.

Man Booker Prize – Who has won before?
2016: Paul Beatty, The Sell-Off
2015: Marlon James, A Brief History of Seven Killings
2014: Richard Flanagan, The Narrow Road to the Deep North
2013: Eleanor Catton, The Luminaries
2012: Hilary Mantel, Bring up the Bodies
2011: Julian Barnes, The Sense of an ending
2010: Howard Jacobson, The Finkler Question
2009: Hilary Mantel, Wolf Hall
2008: Aravind Adiga, The White Tiger
2007: Anne Enright, The Gathering

Follow us on Facebook, and on Twitter @BBCNewsEnts, or on Instagram at bbcnewsents. If you have a story suggestion, email