Meet the first female Director to get an honorary Oscar

Getty Images

Belgian film-maker Agnes Varda will be the first female Director an honorary Oscar to be awarded.

Varda, 89, was one of the key figures in the French New wave in the 1960s, making films such as Cleo from 5 to 7, Le Bonheur and The creatures.

You will be one of four people get honorary Oscars this year, as the organizers reflect diversity.

Writer-Director Charles Burnett, actors Donald Sutherland and cinematographer Owen Roizman are the other recipients.

At the end of the Twitter post of @ava

Famous, only one woman has ever been a competitive Oscar for directing – Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker in 2010.

Sixteen Directors have received honorary Oscars in the past, after the Academy Awards database – all the people.

Getty Images

Varda has been called the mother of the French New wave, according to The Academy, and continues to make critically acclaimed films in her career.

Vagabond from 1985, 1988 Kung-Fu master, in 1995 a Hundred and One nights ” and the autobiographical The beaches of Agnes 2008, all of the circuit before the festival.
It is still the world of the man behind the camera?
Kidman: “We need the support of the female directors’
Huppert says: ‘so much to do’ for equality

She was never eligible for Oscar, but perhaps a nomination to go with her honorary Oscar in the next year, nominated for a competition.

It is thought to be a possible contender for the best documentary Oscar, for the faces, the places, the as the best documentary at the Cannes film festival in may.

Getty Images/EPA

This year’s other honorary Oscar recipients of the Academy, said Charles Burnett – who was head of The Killer of sheep and to Sleep with anger – he was praised for his “representation of the African-American experience”.

Donald Sutherland is known for roles in films such as The Dirty dozen, M*A*S*H, ordinary people, and The Hunger Games franchise.

And Owen Roizman has already five competitive Academy award nominations for his work on The French Connection, The exorcist, network, Tootsie, and Wyatt Earp.

The Quartet will receive their statuettes at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Governors Awards ” at the 11.November.

Academy President John Bailey said: “this year’s Governors Awards reflect the range of international, independent and mainstream film, and are a tribute to the four great artists, whose work embodies the diversity of our common humanity.”

Follow us on Facebook, and on Twitter @BBCNewsEntsor on Instagram at bbcnewsents. If you have a history, the E-Mail proposal [email protected]