The Ukrainians so far will not be able to visit without visas for overseas territories of the EU

Bezveza with the overseas territories of the EU countries will have to wait a few months.

The Ministry of foreign Affairs has launched talks on visa-free regime with the so-called overseas territories of France and the Netherlands, but this process will require additional time.

This is stated in the written reply of the Department of consular service (BCS) foreign Ministry at the request of “the European truth”.

Visa-free regime between Ukraine and the EU will not apply to remote from the European continent by the island having the status of “overseas territories” of these States – they continue to retain visa requirements for Ukrainians.

The foreign Ministry has already initiated talks about distribution on them of visa-free regime with Ukraine, and recognizes that they will take some time.
The EU officially confirmed the date when bezviz will work for Ukraine

“The introduction of visa-free travel to the overseas territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands… is not expected until the autumn of 2017,” – said in response to the DCS of the MFA. Diplomats stressed that the procedure is lengthy due to the fact that the island territory of Aruba, curaçao and Sint Maarten and conduct their own immigration policy.

In the case of the overseas territories of France, the situation is different, the decision on bitwise accepted in Paris, but it also is not automatic and “will require changes in the legislation of France.” As you know, today in France there is a change of government (a government formed in may, parliamentary elections are scheduled for June), which may slightly slow down the procedure. At the same time, parliamentary approval is not necessary, the sources of the EP.

In a number of overseas territories of France include Guadeloupe, Mayotte, Martinique, French Guiana, reunion, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna, French Polynesia. Currently, they allow the entry of Ukrainian citizens with a Schengen visa issued by the Consulate of France; after the commencement of bezveza the Ukrainians will not be able to obtain such a visa to a biometric passport.

As previously reported, the foreign Ministry has already started negotiations on bitwise with the latest recognized territory in continental Europe – Gibraltar.