Promoted: How the What Car? Price of the security is decided

To win the What Car? Safety award, sponsored by Thatcham Research, a vehicle must prove that it is among the safest machines on the road today. This is because the criteria for the price incredibly stringent, going beyond those of the Euro NCAP crash ratings.

The ten finalists for the 2017 awards have now been revealed by Autocar’s sister title what car?, and they will be examined by a jury featuring some of the best in the world of car security experts.

One of the judges is Matthew Avery, research director at Thatcham Research – the only UK site which conducts tests for Euro NCAP. To hear him talk about the way in which the price is considered, and why the Volvo XC90 and Honda Jazz, said the first of two awards in the 2016 Price of the Security, watch this video.

The finalists for 2017 What Car? Safety award, sponsored by Thatcham Research, are the following:

• Alfa Romeo Giulia

• Audi Q2

• Ford Edge

• Hyundai Ioniq

• Mercedes-Benz E-Class

• Peugeot 3008

• Renault Scenic

• The Seat Ateca

• Toyota Prius

• Volkswagen Tiguan

The winner will be announced at the What Car? Awards in January 2017.

For more information on Thatcham Research, click here.