Norway Rybak through to the final of the Eurovision


Australia, Denmark, and Hungary are among the countries qualified in the second Eurovision semi-final.

The event took place in Lisbon and has also seen the Norwegian Alexander Rybak who won the competition in 2009.

However, russia did not qualify – which came as a shock – since the country has been to every final since 1998 (although they had not participated in the last year).

Poland has also been eliminated – although their song the Light in Me has been well-loved.

The UK qualifies automatically for the grand final.

Underdogs Slovenia were also among those selected to participate in the final, where the singer Lea Sirk hopes to better his country in 2001, placing seventh.

The pop star to help Cyprus become a Eurovision favorites

The first 10 Eurovision finalists chosen

What these united KINGDOM at the Eurovision acts know now

Rybak has opened the discussion to the ecstasy of the stadium – clearly, he still enjoys a large fan base following his Fairytale win nine years ago.

Another favorite of the night, Rasmussen arrived not long after with their vibrant Viking anthem, which saw the crowd singing followed by a giant of the send at the end.


But the best reception of the night, Australia, Jessica Mauboy, who gave a passionate performance of his song We Got Love. The audience almost took the roof to the Darwin of the singer, who looked really overwhelmed by the response, after she finished.

It seems that the performance achieved during the audience at home, with Twitter users commenting on Jessica’s energy and “presence”.

The end of the Twitter post by @Peytonsmusic

The end of the Twitter post by @touchyfeelydiva

Among other acts of the second semi-final are metal act AWS from Hungary and Sweden Benjamin Ingrosso – cousin of the Swedish House Mafia, Sebastian Ingrosso.

There were 18 countries taking part in the second semi-final, with eight to be eliminated. The ten qualified will join the top ten countries around the Tuesday, is the first step.

Andres Put

The second semi-final has seen the following countries, selected through a combination of jury and public voting: Norway, Serbia, Denmark, republic of Moldova, The netherlands, Australia, Hungary, Sweden, Slovenia and the Ukraine

In addition, the “Big Five” – France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the united KINGDOM, in addition to the host country Portugal – set by automatically. It is because of these countries that contribute the most, financially.

Those who did not go through Romania, san Marino, Russia, Georgia, Poland, Malta, Latvia and Montenegro.

The success of the country to join the likes of bookies favourite, Cyprus – represented by the pop star Eleni Foureira – and Israel Netta in the final.

Israel and Norway are now neck and neck as the second favorite to win the competition.

The united KINGDOM of the participant, SuRie, has the weight of British hopes rested on his shoulders. The 29-year-old performs his anthemic track, the Storm, which she says is intended to inspire hope.


The 26 countries make it through to Saturday’s final are:You can watch the Eurovision Song Contest for the grand final on Saturday 12 May on BBC One from 20:00 (CEST).


Follow us on Facebook, and on Twitter @BBCNewsEnts, or on Instagram at bbcnewsents. If you have a story suggestion e-mail