Einstein’s waves wins award the Nobel prize for physics


2017 Nobel prize in physics to three American scientists for the detection of gravitational waves has been awarded.

Rainer Weiss, Kip Thorne and Barry Barish, the price share of the nine million kronor (£831,000).

The waves before Einstein, and a fundamental consequence of his General theory of relativity have been said of Albert.

The winners are the members of the Ligo-Virgo observatories, which were responsible for the breakthrough.

The winners join a prestigious list of 204 other laureates of the physics, recognized since 1901.

Prof Weiss is awarded half of the prize money, while Barish and Thorne and the other half share.

Gravity waves describe the stretching and squeezing of space-time, which occurs when massive objects accelerate.

The distortions of space, from the merger of two black holes was first picked up, the US Ligo laboratory, 2015 – the culmination of a decades-long search.

Three more examples have been discovered since then.
Gravitational waves, a quest to go into space
Scottish gravitational wave pioneer, dies
Getting your head around Einstein’s waves
Gravitational waves: A triumph for big science

Gravitational waves – ripples in the structure of space-time

IGO/Caltech/WITH/Sonoma State

Gravitational waves are a prediction of General relativity
It took decades for the technology to develop in order to directly detect
They are the structure of waves in the space-time produced by violent events
Accelerated masses generate waves that propagate with the speed of light
Detectable sources should be sealing to include the end of black holes and neutron stars
Ligo/Virgo fire, Laser, long, L-shaped tunnels; the waves interfere with the light
Recognize the waves will open the universe to completely new studies

On the occasion of a press conference, Olga Botner of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, said: “The first observation of the gravity, the wave was a milestone – a window to the universe.”

The US Ligo and European Virgo laboratories have been built to detect the very subtle signal, by means of these waves.

Although you will merge made by colossal phenomena such as black holes, Einstein himself thought that the effect might simply be to small the registry through technology.

But the three new prize-winners led the development of a laser-based system, the sensitivity could reach that is required to bag the recognition.

The result was, Ligo, a pair of far-separated locations in North America: an information point, based in Washington State, while the other in Livingston, Louisiana.

The European side of the gravitational waves, collaboration is based in Pisa, Italy. On 14 August of this year, shortly after online, it is the youngest of the four gravitational wave events felt.

Price talk on the phone to the Nobel announcement in Stockholm, Rainer Weiss, said that the discovery was the work of about 1,000 people.

But the Nobel trio’s contribution as fundamental.

Know the strategy that would be necessary for a proof.

Thorne has a lot of the theoretical work, the basis for the quest.

And Barish, took over as the second Director of the Ligo 1994, is credited with driving the organizational reforms and technology decisions, which, ultimately, prove a pivotal role in the success of the mission.

Catherine O’riordan, interim co-CEO of the American Institute of Physics (AIP), said: “White, Barish, and Thorne led us to the first detection of gravitational waves, and laid the Foundation stone for the new and exciting era in which we are officially registered on September 14, 2015 – the era of gravity wave astronomy.”

S. Ossokine/A. Buonanno (MPI gravitational physics)

Many commentators gravitational waves had to win as a dead cert last year, but the Nobel Committee has always been fiercely independent in his decisions and all the waiting has come to you 12 months.

Had won the award last year, it is highly likely that the Scottish physicist Ron Drever had shared with Weiss, and Thorne.

The trio won all the major science prizes apart from the Nobel – in the time immediately after the first detection in the year 2015.

But Drever died in March of this year, and Nobels are not awarded, usually posthumously.

The Scot developed some of the early laser systems at the University of Glasgow, before taking this knowledge to Caltech in California, the administration of the Washington State Ligo facility.

Glasgow is the UK hub for the major British contribution to Ligo. Institute for gravitational research, designed and built the suspension keeps the ultra-level in the US and Italian labs.

Previous winners of the Nobel prize in physics

2016 – David Thouless, Duncan Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz shared the award for their work on the rare phases of matter.

2015 – Takaaki Kajita and Arthur McDonald were with the price of the discovery that neutrinos change between different “flavors”.

2014 – Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura won the Nobel prize in physics for the development of the first blue light-emitting diodes (LEDs).

2013 – Francois Englert and Peter Higgs shared the spoils for the formulation of the theory of the Higgs-boson particle.

2012 – Serge Haroche and David J vineyards, received the award for their work with light and matter.

2011 – the discovery of The expansion of the universe is accelerating earned Saul Perlmutter, Brian P Schmidt and Adam Riess the physics prize.

2010 – Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov received the graphs of the prize for their discovery of the “wonder material”.

Follow Paul and Jonathan on Twitter.