Background: how and why the country was suspended from the Olympics


1920, Antwerp. Removed Germany, Austria, Hungary, Turkey and Bulgaria, recognized by the organizers of the First world war.

1924, Paris (Summer Olympics), Chamonix (Winter Olympics). Removed Germany as the organizer of the First world war.

1948, London. Removed Germany and Japan for the outbreak of the Second world war.

1964, Tokyo. The IOC in 1962 expelled South Africa for its policy of racial discrimination of apartheid.

2000, Sydney. To participate in the games did not allow the team to Afghanistan. Who was in power in this country the Taliban banned sports women that were regarded as discrimination based on sex.

In 2014, Sochi. Were not allowed in team India for state intervention in the Affairs of the national Olympic Committee — as a result, three Indian athletes — a skier, skier and Luger — performed in Sochi under the Olympic flag.

Protests and boycotts

1956, Melbourne. From participation in the Games refused Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, and Cambodia in protest against the aggression of Britain and France against Egypt (Suez crisis), as well as the Netherlands, Switzerland and Spain, protesting against the Soviet invasion of Hungary. China did not participate because the IOC recognition of Taiwan and admission of athletes to the games.

1964, Tokyo. Boycott Olympics Indonesia and the DPRK. Indonesia had a fight with the IOC due to the fact that the Olympic officials reacted negatively to the banning of athletes from Israel at the competition held in Indonesia. North Korea expressed solidarity with Indonesia on this issue.

1976, Montreal. A boycott of the 26 African countries. Therefore, they expressed dissatisfaction with the Rugby match, held in South Africa between the local team and the national team of New Zealand. The Africans demanded to suspend the Olympic Committee of New Zealand for ignoring the boycott of South Africa and left the game when their demand was not fulfilled.

1980, Moscow. In total, the Olympics were boycotted by 65 countries. The boycott was the result of the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan a year earlier. Nevertheless, the athletes of many countries that supported the boycott, arrived in Moscow on an individual basis. At the opening ceremony and the closing ceremonies of the 14 teams (Australia, Andorra, Belgium, UK, Netherlands, Denmark, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, Puerto Rico, San Marino, France and Switzerland) were not under national but under the Olympic flag, New Zealand flag the new Zealand Association of the Olympic games and Commonwealth Games, and Spain — under the flag of the Spanish Olympic Committee. In presenting the medals to the athletes of these countries did not sound the national anthems and Olympic hymn.

1984, Los Angeles. The games were boycotted by all the socialist countries (except Romania, Yugoslavia and China). Romania formally joined the boycott but allowed their athletes to go to the USA privately. The official reason for the response to the boycott was the refusal of the organizers of the Olympic games-84 to provide security guarantees to the athletes from the USSR and other Warsaw Pact countries. Participation in these Olympic games also did not accept the athletes of Libya and Iran — to protest against the participation in the competition athletes from Israel.

1988, Seoul. North Korea has declared a boycott of the games after the IOC rejection of a proposal by Pyongyang to conduct a series of competitions on the territory of the DPRK.

Performances under the Olympic flag

1992, Barcelona. In connection with the political processes that led to the collapse of the Soviet Union and Yugoslavia, the sportsmen of these countries competed under the Olympic flag.

Athletes of the USSR did not participate in the Olympic games until 1952. Until 1933, the IOC did not recognize the Soviet sports establishment, and a member of the international Olympic Committee was Prince Lev Urusov, who lived after the revolution in exile. The 1936 Olympics held in Nazi Germany, the Soviet Union and the Republican government of Spain boycotted.

Violations of anti-doping legislation never became cause for dismissal from participating in the Olympic games and the national sports federations or Olympic committees.